Erica Rosenfeld: Art can save people’s lives

Erica Rosenfeld left yesterdabest_IIy. She was here for a week and so very present in the studios, with the students, that it will be very strange to go into the studio and not find her working.

Some things I learned about Erica from her lecture:

1. She loves to cook. We saw images of dumplings that Michiko taught her to make, a PizzaTaco courtesy of her friend Matt, a gorgeous salad with edamame, goat cheese, and radishes, and a rather odd shot of a roasted turkey wearing bacon bracelets.

2. She has a sweet dog (also referred to as her roommate) named Birdie. Those of you who know me know that having a dog brings high marks in my book.

3. She collects prison art and showed an image of an amazing box made out of cigarette boxes. I need to ask her for an image of that.

4. One of her favorite museums? The American Visionary Museum in Baltimore. I’ve never been there so I just added it to my list.

photo-5 IMG_2713 IMG_2708  best_IV

5. She is drawn to outsider art and described her fascination with “what people make when they’re not thinking about art as a commodity and they are working with limited resources.” Some of her favorite outsider artists: James Harold Jennings, Tim Duncan, Dalton Ghetti, and Judith Scott.

6. She believes that art can save people’s lives. I agree.

Erica Rosenfeld

Erica Rosenfeld

644601_10151335815579423_781812206_n

Erica Rosenfeld

I’m going to miss Erica and her awesome Hot Shop chicken-cooking demos (perhaps she will make tofu on her next visit?), amazingly crazy-beautiful eggshell pieces, and her incredible spirit, warmth, and generosity.

– Sharyn O’Mara

Leave a comment